puppies and pasta

28 Jul

Hey y’all! Thanks so much for your comments on my post about quitting the calorie counting : my goal that I have already put into motion! It’s going to be HARD. This is my third day without counting and although I feel okay, I now find myself thinking in rigid terms like: breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner. Although I start to eat each when I feel hungry, it still seems like some sort of “plan”, but I guess it’s a START. (And at least I’m free of the counting!)

Last night Danny, my brother (who is in town visiting) and I went to visit my cousin Scott and his wife Joanne. Danny and I lived with Scott and Joanne for about eight months before moving into our current home (okay, so Danny lived with them and I totally moved in and crashed the place) so it was REALLY exciting to go and see them + their PUPS!

I think I have posted about Cruiser before- he is the first second love of my life, a giant French Mastiff.

the only boy who looks better with wrinkles

Last night he was PUMPED to see Danny, and probably even more excited to see me, his favorite former roommate. (I gave WAY too many treats…sorry Joanne.)

higher than jordan!

And I got to see their pup Mickey, who is equally as cute yet for some reason he makes me so nervous that it looks as if I have to pee. Whoops!

one day we'll be friends

P.S. Did you notice my first week early birthday present from Danny?

bling bling sistah

Anyway- since my bro is here I wanted to prove to him that I actually do cook (only so he can run home and tell my mom that I’m almost HALF as good as her, which is really a compliment still..) I decided to dabble with some shrimp and make Christina’s recipe: The Christina Orzo Shrimp and Feta Bake. The only change I made?

try this, now!

Out with the orzo and in with the Orecchiette, because it sounds way more like MY last name instead.

fresh veggies and white wine sauce

I also added a ridiculous amount of extra pasta and feta cheese: got some boys to feed here!

woops!

I’m about to pop it in the oven in another ten minutes so it’s done as soon as D$ gets home- serious girlfriend points, gotta butter him up before my birthday! If this is not one of the best recipes I’ve tried out in awhile, I will be shocked. It already smells SO GOOD.

Oh P.S. Follow me and Courtie on twitter! 😀

7 Responses to “puppies and pasta”

  1. Katelyn @ Chef Katelyn July 28, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    WHEN IS YOUR BIRTHDAY MINE IS SATURDAY !!!!!

  2. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 28, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    That dog is huge! He looks like a big stuffed animal in the picture!

  3. Grace July 29, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    Good job on keeping up with kicking your calorie counting habit! This looks like a very yummy recipe!

  4. Lauren July 29, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    I LOVE orecchiette! So much better than orzo, I’m betting! Hope it turned out good 🙂

  5. Jenny July 29, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    Loving that pasta dish, it looks delicious

  6. Brandi August 1, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Love those gold glitter toms!! jealous! now I want them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

