the meatball shop

1 Aug

YES, you read that right and this is Courtney here… THE MEATBALL SHOP! While I am a vegetarian, it’s not very often you’ll see me posting tofu recipes, or eating any fake meat. Tofu isn’t always my cup of tea, and while I’m not completely opposed, I just don’t enjoy all that processing that goes into the fake meat they sell in the grocery store to make it taste like meat. I gave up meat for a reason, not to eat psuedo-versions all day! (I never really liked any meat to begin with, so while it might be great for other people – it’s just not for me.) That being said, I do absolutely love veggie wings and a veggie chicken cheese steak from two of my favorite places in Philadelphia. Can you tell chicken was the only meat I actually liked…

I’ve heard legends of The Meatball Shop in the Lower East Side, and when I heard another opened near Danny, I knew it was only a matter of time. I just didn’t think I’d be involved… πŸ˜‰

When we walked by and I saw Danny’s face, I figured I’d give it a go and try something new. The waitress came over and explained the menu and I was shocked at how awesome their daily risotto, market salad, and market vegetables sounded, but intrigued by the meatballs.

I was brave! You actually mark your choice on the menu with an erasable marker. Fun for a lover of checking things off her to-do lists…

I figured it was go big or go home… That’s why I got a “Fool-Aid,” the adult version of a childhood classic to help me through it πŸ˜‰

tasted exactly like purple, and that's it.

What is a meatball sandwich supposed to taste like? I’m not quite sure.

It sure looked like one… I asked Danny 100 times if he was sure his was meat.

Ahhh, I did it!

eee nervous face

Verdict: It was good! I survived. And was full the entire day and I swear the beginning of the next. I think next time I would try the meatballs naked, and you can get a side underneath. For example, rigatoni, mashed potatoes, market veggies, spinach, etc. Check out the menu – possibilities are endless! PS, The side salad was AWESOME. I can’t help it, I just love my vegetables.

Sidenote.. I got a new iPhone app. Jamie, get ready for a ton of this comin atchya shortly!

10 Responses to “the meatball shop”

  1. cupcake dynamite August 1, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    I CANT WAIT FOR THAT APPPPP! I’m going to bed right now so I wake up and say tomorrow you’ll be here.. BAHAH love you bye. j

  2. Grace August 1, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Ohh that sounds really yummy actually! I’d do it naked too though! Love the photobooth pictures!

  3. alyssa - fashion fitness foodie August 2, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    I lvoe the meatless meatballs they have at trader joes – sounds yummy!

    what app??

  4. Lauren August 2, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    I sometimes like tofu and sometimes hate it and I’m totally against fake meat with a million gross and mysterious ingredients. Veggie burgers/dogs made of real food are totally cool with me. And I would probably try those meatballs either way!

  5. Jenny August 2, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Glad you enjoyed your sammie, it really looks delicious!

  6. Kelly August 2, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Gahh, I have yet to try the meatball shop! Everyone raves about it though, and your sandwich looks sooo delicious. Glad you enjoyed!

    • Susan - Nurse on the Run August 2, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      Kelly…let’s go try it together! I’ve always wanted to go, but I hear it can get craaaaaazy!

      Glad you got to try the Meatball Shop….veggie style!

  7. The Sometimes Healthy Girl August 2, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    And now I have another place that I must try on my list of places to go in NYC πŸ™‚

  8. megpinkgiggles August 2, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    thanks for the sweet comments on my kick the habit post ❀

  9. Tara August 3, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Oooh I kinda want to go there now! I used to love meatball sandwiches — I mean like I would get them multiple times a week. I need this in my life.

Leave a Reply

