update on kickin’ those habits

9 Aug

HEY Y’ALL. Guess who’s flight was supposed to leave tonight but got canceled so I get to see her face for possibly two more nights?!

THIS GIRL!

Courtney is back in my arms and I’m never letting go. Just kidding..but Alyss maybe y’all can meet now?..

I’ve been having a BLAST with my best friend. Seriously. So much of a blast that I’ve totally forgotten about Freely Be’s Kick The Habit.. where I’ve promised myself to finally quit counting calories once and for all. By forgotten… I mean I’ve QUIT without stress.

Now, I’m not sure if the excitement of my 24th birthday, Court’s visit, and a raise at my job (WHAT) have taken over my brain allowing it to no longer be temporarily consumed by calorie counting.. but honestly. I am a beast at quitting this- mainly because it is SO EASY to just eat and not add. I’m a writer, hello! Numbers were never my deal anyway.

ALSO- quitting has led me to consuming WAY healthier foods. I don’t add a brownie up for a nice lunch total and call it a meal. I eat quinoa, tomatoes, and goat cheese for lunch. Then I’m full, and I’ve forgotten about food until my stomach strikes again.

life is just more fun this way..

Once again- it’s ONLY been two weeks. (I started a week before the first.)  I know that things can change, but as of now I’m happy and I like this life. In addition to quitting calorie counting I’ve decided to do a double whammy and combat my fear of lifting weights.

So until August 31st.. no counting, and bringin’ back that strength training! Really.. the worst that can happen is I decide that I “looked better” on my old plan and I revert back to that. What I’m striving for though is releasing myself from all “fears” left over from my old distorted body image days and to fully embrace myself.. and maybe some muscles too. So far..so good.

8 Responses to “update on kickin’ those habits”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 10, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    OOH YAY. How exciting. I agree completely. When I stopped counting calories and just ate wholesome food, I became so much more happy and manageable. I’m glad it has been working well for you too!

    I think we should have a blogging meetup tonight to celebrate delayed plane rides with margaritas. No but really-I’m off work all day today so just email me if you are interested. 😉

    • cupcake dynamite August 10, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      OHHHHHH! Maybe me you court alyssa…menchies or margs!? We might be leaving for the airport at like 4am tomorrow morning :/ but I will definitely talk to court and email you- I’d LOVE that!

      Totally agree- life is improving and listening to my body feels wayyyy healthier! (<even with the menchies and margs.. :))

  2. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss August 10, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    WHY DID YOU NOT TEXT ME THIS NEWS?!

    my mama will be in town tonight. this this her last night?! gym today? SAY GYM TODAY.

  3. Lauren August 10, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    Congrats, lady! I agree that once you stop counting calories, life is just SO much easier. Leave the numbers to the math nerds.

  4. megpinkgiggles August 10, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    Congrats on doing so well with your kick the habit! woot woot!

  5. The Sometimes Healthy Girl August 11, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Way to go! Sounds like you’re making some really healthy and positive decisions that will really improve your lifestyle. And you two are just wayy too cute. Love that you guys got to spend some time together. Happy Bday!

  6. Natalie @ Taming the Frizz August 12, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Good job! Definitely not worth it to count calories for every little (or big) thing you eat. Keep up the good work 🙂

  7. snacktress August 13, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    I’m glad to hear your habit has been kicked! I need to stop counting, it’s such a pain in the bootay. Glad to hear you two are having fun together 🙂

Leave a Reply

