alive and lifting

30 Aug

Hey friends! I’m alive! Courtney and I fared well in the storm. I know that Irene caused some rough damage to other areas along the coast but we were lucky enough to experience nothing but some wind and rain. And in my case- endless wine and brownies with Danny’s mom. We DID get home Sunday to find a large branch taking up most of our driveway- seriously how crazy does this branch look?

bend, and snap

As per request of Danny’s mom I sent our landlord a photo of the tree to keep him posted. He then emailed me back a powerpoint presentation in which he used my photos to compare and contrast hurricane Isabelle vs. Irene for work. I’m not sure whether that means the tree will be taken care of…? Interesting.

In other news, I bought myself a 9 dollar used gift, because I’m worth it.

Yeah! It just arrived at my doorstep an hour ago. I can’t wait to hunker down (am I 90?) and read this book. Expect a complete review- I’ve heard mixed reviews about The New Rules of Lifting for Women and I’m ready to form my own opinion.

Something I’m also ready to do? GO SHOPPING. I am in desperate need (as per the rules) of an outfit to wear to my cousin’s 30th birthday celebration this weekend. I’ve been so good at cutting back on my spending lately (read: not THAT good but better than normal) so I think I deserve some sort of purchase..Also, I played some gambling dice game with D$s friends on Sunday- I rocked their world and won 40 bucks without throwing any money in to play. (Some call it cheating, I call it hellooo forever 21.)

Back to work, then headed towards the gym! If anyone has any recipe ideas for dinner- point em my way. I’m feeling uninspired.

4 Responses to “alive and lifting”

  1. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss August 30, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    don’t go shopping without me! ya hear?

    aaaaand you must tell me everything you learn from this book.

  2. Lauren August 30, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    Yes, please do share some lifting tips with us! I keep hearing about that book so I’m interested to see what you think about it. Glad you both made it out okay!

  3. Dawn August 31, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    I have been trying to cut back on the spending also….not my choice…more my husbands 😦

    That tree does look kinda freaky. Good news it was only a tree branch down.

    I see that everyone is getting that book. I have some amazon money to spend…maybe I should get on it and purchase the book.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. where in the world « cupcakedynamite - September 13, 2011

    […] between all that – somehow getting in some serious resting in, too. this is a rest day… […]

Leave a Reply

