BFF: our differences

2 Sep

While we often times emphasize how similar we are, Jamie and I actually *DO* have some differences. GASP! :O That’s why we wanted to do a Best Friends Friday where we talk about some of the things that make each of us our own person. Catch up on our rules, or what BFF actually is here.

1. Jamie’s Dance Moves > Courtney’s Dance Moves.


Jamie could probably be a back-up dancer for Lil Wayne, and I on the other hand am very “white girl can’t dance.” My body sometimes feels like a Barbie when it tries to bend.. it just doesn’t move that way. Jamie tries to coach me along, but in her absence my skills are seriously lacking.

2. Jamie is a super romantic mushy-gushy Charlotte type. I am a practical, show less-feelings kind of gal. (Maybe more of a mix of Carrie and Samantha – without the raunchiness, and definitely skipping the lesbian episodes. :))

mush

This is a good balance to have in friendship. I can bring Jamie back to reality, and Jamie can tell me when I’m not being mushy enough. Trust me, there’s times.

all about balance

3. In the theme of #2, this stems many (sometimes wine induced) proclamations of love on Facebook.

I, on the other hand, don’t think I have ever made one of these mushy statuses. I like to keep things more serious.

(A reference to my apartment woes..)

4. The herbivore (Courtney) and the carnivore (Jamie)

Anyone who lets eating habits get in the way of friendship is silly. We both respect each other’s choices and would never try to persuade the other to the dark side, or the light side.. 😉 Jamie actually willingly decided to try out vegetarianism a couple years ago and it just didn’t work out for her. Only we know what’s right for our bodies and as Gina says, “different strokes for different folks.”

5. I need hugging lessons. I dance like a barbie and hug like one too. Jamie will pull anyone into a giant embrace and usually has her arm around Danny at all times. I am more about personal space over here… I’m working on it. 😉

15 Responses to “BFF: our differences”

  1. Katie September 2, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    Its great to have a best friend in your life, you don’t get many great friends, I have a handful of best ones!

    Happy Weekend to you girls!! xoxo ❤

  2. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss September 2, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    ahaha I love this BFF Friday! and I’m pretty sure I have the same dress as jamie in the dancing pict-cha.

    • cupcake dynamite September 2, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

      LOL. pretty sure we both have it. NOT a difference… 😉

  3. glitzglamgranola September 2, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    I think that’s great that you are able to highlight your differences but why you are good for each other!! After all, it’s fun to be with people who aren’t exactly the same as you but are the same on the important stuff!

  4. Lauren September 2, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    So.freaking.cute. You two seem to compliment each other very well 🙂 I feel awkward hugging people, although I’m totally open to hugs from anyone. Teach us how to dance, Jamie!!

  5. Vegetarian in the City September 2, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    aww this post made me miss my best friend!! she’s working overseas so I only get to see her a few times a year. enjoy it!

  6. Sarah OUaL September 2, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Bahaha Court I’m a Barbie dancer, too. It’s cool.

  7. owlmazing September 3, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    I am exactly like you when it comes to the barbie stuff! I am the MOST awkward dancer out there I think and yeah…hugs. ugh. My friends all hug to say hello and stuff but i think it is so weird…so i just hug those who hug me first, lol!

  8. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy September 3, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    I like this post! It’s great that you can recognize your differences and still be okay with it :).

  9. Christine September 4, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    this post made me laugh out loud. especially “white girl can’t dance.” perfection. 🙂

  10. Grace September 5, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    This is cute and great to point out since friends can be so different but that is a good thing as well! No one wants to be replicas of each other but all in all with your similarities and differences you two make an awesome team:)

  11. kbwood September 5, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    yall ARE SO AWESOME! can we all hang out?! pleaseeeeeee k thanks!

  12. Susan - Nurse on the Run September 6, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    My college roommate and I were the same way….soooo different, but we worked together super well! I’m pretty sure I’m more of the “Courtney” in the relationship. If you ever need a dancing partner, let me know and we can be terrible together.

  13. Brittany September 7, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    You two are sooo cute. Loved this post.

  14. christinaorso September 14, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    i might be more like courtney! i am the WORST hugger. i just never do it. people have to grab me. i am not mushy gushy either. and i’m a bad dancer, but i do it anyway!

Leave a Reply

