Paleo&Fitness, 100 Day Challenege

5 Oct

Hey friends! First of all: if you haven’t tried the cake vodka yet.. DO IT. No mixer or chaser necessary, it tastes like liquid icing and I don’t even enjoy vodka. (I drink it, but I don’t particularly like it- more of a bourbon/wine/beer girl. Oops?)

I got a few questions regarding the challenge at my gym so I thought I’d explain it in further detail! Apparently I’m only on day 17. Womp womp. The challenge lasts 100 days and it is basically a push to be the fittest you can be and healthiest in all aspects of life.

thanks, pinterest

The Fitness:

Two days a week (M&W) I haveย  hour long group training sessions. We do circuits involving heavy lifting, plyometrics, and even strange balance activities. (When you live at the beach and have surfers for trainers you find yourself kneeling on a ball, wiggling, and trying not to fall over.

On Tuesdays and Thursdays I go to a spin circuit class- and man it is INTENSE. The hardest fitness class I’ve ever been too but I feel like a rock star when I’m done. It’s basically 5 circuits ( 2 spinning -the instructor coaches you as if you’re in a spin class- 1 TRX station, and two stations involving workouts with dumbbells, medicine balls, etc.). It’s wild. The first day I wanted to cry but I’m approaching my 6th class and feeling stronger.)

On Fridays I’ve been instructed to stick with my long runs since I am training for The Surfin’ Santa 10 miler. I’ve been running one other day during the week if I have time, usually a short 3-4 mile boardwalk run on a M or W.

Saturdays I am supposed to go to yoga or any class at the gym that I want- usually I sleep in and go to breakfast with Danny.

Sundays, I rest.

The Diet:

I haven’t been following the suggested meal plan to a T, but I have been sticking with Paleo unless you count Saturday when I drank like 80 beers and ate 3 pieces of pizza and then passed out with the worst stomach ache of my life.

Aside from that- I love Paleo. I am the queen of getting on various kicks and then kicking them to the curb, but for now Paleo works. I’ve always had issues with acne and break outs, and for over the past two weeks my skin has been uncharacteristically clear. I also struggle with migraines, and I am hoping that cutting out the sugar and dairy will really help with my head.

If you read all of this- you are a champion! This is the challenge in a nutshell, and so far so good! I am fortunate enough to be able to work from home and get in all of the above workouts on my hour lunch break…definite bonus.

12 Responses to “Paleo&Fitness, 100 Day Challenege”

  1. owlmazing October 5, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    First of all: cake vodka?! gimme.
    Second, this sounds like an intense challenge! Good for you for signing up for that. It feels SO good to feel yourself getting stronger! I love that. Ego boost much?
    && I would eat practically anything if it would improve my skin. sad but true! ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Lauren October 5, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Man, 100 day challenge sounds longgg, but I know you’ll rock it! Love that part about drinking 80 beers, ha ha. I’m all for clear skin ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. fashionfitnessfoodie October 6, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    the cake vodka is so good! Know which flavor I just had yesterday? MARSHMALLOW! Delicious.

    I kind of want my gym to offer this… i’m going to put it in the request box!

    • Jamie@cupcakedynamite October 6, 2011 at 11:44 am #

      MARSHMALLOW!? I NEED that! I heard Pinnacle whipped cream is really good with diet orange soda, I want to get on that next ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. PrettyFittie October 6, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Paleo is hardcore, way to go! PS as soon as I finish my mary training in December, I’m starting a cull on yoga regimen. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • PrettyFittie October 6, 2011 at 10:41 am #

      *full

      • Jamie@cupcakedynamite October 6, 2011 at 11:43 am #

        YEAH! Your legs will feel SO GOOD! I never ever feel like going to yoga but I’m always glad when I leave. (Not because it’s over, but because it’s like a full body massage.)

  5. Christine October 6, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    cake vodka and like 80 beers and pizza? <— lez be friens.

    i've been reading another blogger who eats paleo too! http://www.paleo-project.com. definitely something i'm considering – i don't eat tooooo much sugar on a regular basis but i do love candy!

    • Jamie@cupcakedynamite October 6, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

      AH THANK YOU thank you for the link!!!! I actually found her blog a couple weeks ago then couldn’t find it anymore and I was bummed! (I’m not organized enough to use google reader or anything.. ;)) BAHAH oops on the 80 beers and pizza ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but cake vodka is paleo..right…?

      Try it out! I’ve read a lot of things that say give it a shot for 30 days and see how you feel- if you don’t like it or don’t notice any changes just go back to your normal ways of eating. I have noticed that I seem to have way more energy in my workouts, and that I can run without my stomach getting upset! Definite bonuses. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Liz @ Southern Charm October 6, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I’m loving this 100 day challenge idea!!

    I love how I feel when I stick to Paleo, but like you sometimes I kick them to the curb after my kick. But lately, I’ve been thinking about trying it out again.

    Can’t wait to read more about your journey as time goes on! Inspiring!

  7. Courtney @ The Petite AthlEAT October 6, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Good luck with Paleo! I did it solid for 3 months, enjoyed it at first, and then started feeling so deprived – I realized I could never do it for life. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you enjoy it more than I did!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. i’m not a princess. on sundays. « cupcakedynamite - November 3, 2011

    […] seven weeks in to the 100 day challenge and still following the fitness regimen to a […]

Leave a comment