spring preview

21 Mar

Saturday wasn’t as warm as Friday (74!!!!!), but it was still warm enough to enjoy some NYC scenery. I live fairly close the South Street Sea Port and as it gets warmer I know it’s going to be a frequent to-do. (You can carry your drinks around anywhere outside… I mean… it’s very pretty…) I was feeling super lazy when it was time to go and didn’t want to part with my yoga clothes and new lulu headband. I said goodbye to the headband… but just couldn’t find it in me to part with the cropped pants, sneakers, and NorthFace. Oops?

brooklyn bridge, manhattan bridge, williamsburg bridge

Danny & I soaked up the scenery, fresh air, browsed through the inside mall, and then ate lunch OUTSIDEEEEEEE (what, what!!) A bit chilly due to the cropped pants, but anything in the name of eating outside, even if it means sitting Indian style and using your purse as a blanket.

pretty

We decided to eat at the Seaport Cafe & I got the veggie wrap (surprise, surprise?).

You can just pretend those onion rings are a side salad, right?

smileeeee, date - we on a boat

The rest of the day was spent being fairly lazy as we had an open bar birthday to prep for later on that night.

roomate

Sunday night, Danny & I used another ScoutMob 50% off coupon. (!!!!!!!) These things are amazing when it’s only two people. $20 off and 2-for-1 beer happy hour on a Sunday?! I like you, Nolita House, I like you a lot.

Nolita House is school dayzzz themed. Tater tots, mac & cheese, and chalkboards – yes please.

sunday special: mac and cheese tasting. holy moly!

We started with some guacamole & salsa. Do kids get served guacamole in school these days? This I wonder

school day doillies

I tried SO HARD not to get the mac & cheese, however I was tricked because it came with a side salad and that is just dreamy. Let’s just say I will soon be a professional at the mac and cheese of NYC and I’m neither proud nor embarrassed.

dork

This morning I was up @ 6:15 for my usual run, however my acid reflux is kickin’ in hardcore because I was a slacker with filling my prescription and skipped the past two days. I decided a run wouldn’t be best for me as I’m already coughing like crazy.

I did need to call in these replacements this afternoon due to my lack of endorphins.

kardashian unsweetened iced green tea

tiny red velvet whoopie pie 😉

Got my prescription and with some yoga on the schedule tonight I’m hopeful I’ll be back on track tomorrow morning! 😀

PS, in case you missed it – my sick bff did awesome at her race. Hope she gets better soon from BRONCHITIS so I am not condoning this behavior! xoxo

11 Responses to “spring preview”

  1. Susan - Nurse on the Run March 22, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    It was so pretty out! Loooooove it.

    I think I need to make my way to the seaport at some point, that looks fabulous!

  2. Ada March 22, 2011 at 6:23 am #

    Awesome blog, I can’t believe I just discovered it now! Even though I’m a born and raised NYCer, I haven’t spent much time at south street seaport.Your meal is making want to spend more time there though!

    • cupcake dynamite March 22, 2011 at 11:51 am #

      THANKS! It’s gorgeous but definitely has tourist prices. It will be so much fun in the summer, though!

  3. yourdailygrace March 22, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Looks like a very fun day….I would order mac & cheese AND tater tots in a heart beat=) If you liked the whoopie pie I’d try a cake pop! I wasn’t a very big fan of the whoopie pie and thought the cake pop, I had a tiramisu, was much more moist and flavorful=)

    • cupcake dynamite March 22, 2011 at 11:53 am #

      I thought the whoopie was delish!! I wasn’t sure of the flavors of the cake pops – definitely good to know 😉

  4. Jenny March 22, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    Gorgeous picture you too! What an awesome day 🙂 That whoopie pie looks deliciousss 😀

  5. This Italian Family March 22, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    Oh my goodness, that mac and cheese looks ridiculously incredible!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. mah first macaroon « cupcakedynamite - March 24, 2011

    […] all I see in New York are macaroons that look like little mini whoopie pies. When I google imaged that ish, I saw mini whoopie pies, too! Further confusion […]

  2. the adventures of vegetarians « cupcakedynamite - April 12, 2011

    […] the theme of almost vegetarian restaurants and Scout Mob Sunday’s, Danny & I also went to Spring Street Natural on Sunday. It was expiring so we HAD to – […]

Leave a comment