i am [not] a scientist

23 Aug

I’ve never, ever liked science. Cutting open a squid in tenth grade made me barf, and senior year of high school my health teacher sent me into the hallway when she had to discuss something that would make me “woozy”. Somehow I managed to take just once science class in college about Wildlife and my partner told me he’d do all the work and research on our semester long project if I presented it alone. (He hated public speaking, and I’m not shy.)

bio-whhhhat?

In contrast to my science-less past- I feel like a serious scientist right now. With this whole Kick the Habit thing (QUITTING the calorie counting) and the new addition of my ever-feared strength training I feel like I’m conducting some sort of experiment on my body…and I like it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Quitting The Counting And Adding Weight Lifting: Take One

1. Abstract: Prior to July 25th, 2011 I ran. Cardio queen (okay, princess) with a knack for counting calories, yet never knowing exactly how many I needed and frequently eating more calories than I desired. Objective- to quit the counting, listen to my stomach (hungry eat, full stop) and add in strength training while keeping up with the HIIT I enjoy and cutting out the long cardio sessions that I really never liked anyway.

2. Problem: Will doing this make me gain weight?

3. Hypothesis: Original hypothesis from the start of it all? I’ll “puff up”, hate the way I feel- and revert to my old calorie counting ways.

4. Hypothesis where I cheat and write a hypothesis towards the very end of my experiment: I will love the freedom that comes with NOT counting. I’ll eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner with one or two snacks and feel truly full off whole grains, low sugar, and high protein. I’ll start to love the way my stomach looks and kiss my new biceps on the regular. ๐Ÿ˜‰

5. Materials: weights, treadmill (HIIT), ipod, protein, Alyssa, white wine..

moral support, photo stealing, gym partner in crime, of course

6. Procedures: Hiit, lift, make it fun. Smile and RELAX! Don’t be so SERIOUS.

7. Conclusion: TBA on September 1st. ๐Ÿ˜‰

14 Responses to “i am [not] a scientist”

  1. girlsthatrun August 23, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    I always worry about bulking up too. I can’t wait to hear the results of your “experiment”. You might be on to something I’m going to need to test out as well ๐Ÿ™‚

    • cupcake dynamite August 24, 2011 at 10:19 am #

      Thanks, so far- so good!! I’ll definitely let you know if my experiment is worth testing out on your own! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss August 23, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    this post is so cute! and so are we, sweaty at the bar. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Katelyn @ Chef Katelyn August 23, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    WHAT are you talking about girl…as my bio teacher once said, the scientific method is appplicable to all walks of lyfe. Clearly, as you’ve shown. โค

    • cupcake dynamite August 24, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      BAHHA. I’m tryin’, i’m tryin’!!!! It’s kind of fun, actually! xo

  4. Lauren @ Sugar Coated Sisters August 23, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Haha that “cheating” hypothesis – totally guilty of doing that in science class! I’m not so good with science either. In college I took a bio class that required we collect BUGS. Thank goodness one fo the guys in my dorm offered to help (aka catch them all). I just had to freeze them and pin them to the board (ick)

    • cupcake dynamite August 24, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      OH GOD I’d freak!!!! Frozen bugs! Pinning them sounds like the worst part! And I agree- a hypothesis is much easier when you’re already halfway through the experiment :p

  5. Kelsey August 23, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    ooo looking forward to the conclusion- very very interesting!

    xoxo โค

  6. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 23, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I’ve also been way more into cardio than lifting too, so I’ll be interested to hear how your experiment turns out!

  7. Grace August 24, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    You are so cute. P.s. I hate science, too.

  8. Lauren August 24, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    I think I only survived science because I could write a good lab report. Never mind if I didn’t help with any of the actual experiments. I’m a cardio queen too, but who woulda thought half mary training would involve lifting and get me to actually enjoy it?!

  9. megpinkgiggles August 24, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    I AM a scientist and I love this experiment ๐Ÿ™‚ can’t wait to hear the results! Love kicking bad habits

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. burnout (and a habit kicked) « cupcakedynamite - September 6, 2011

    […] As per conclusion to my kick the habit experiment: […]

Leave a comment