to run, or not to run..that is the question

18 Mar

As ya’ll know I’ve been feeling a BIT under the weather. Thank you SO much for your tips and advice! One comment from Grace really resonated with me:

I decided to take the advice: I went on a quick run yesterday to get movin’ and to see how my lungs would fare! One mile in, I felt ROUGH. I wound up running (and walking) two miles. I returned home feeling crabby and discouraged.

Post-run I spent some time debating whether or not I should race tomorrow. The sad thing is, I KNOW that what Grace mentioned was true: THERE IS NO SHAME IN WALKING. If I have to walk, it’s because my body needs it. I can run/walk/do whatever I need to do to cross that finish line and still have a GREAT time and simply enjoy racing with some great girls from work.

That’s what I KNOW. What I truly feel is that if I go to the race tomorrow, I’m going to regret it. I know that I have far too much pride (I’m a Leo to the core) to walk. I’m going to force myself to speed, and it’s going to be miserable because I feel like dirt.

After some time spent resting, (and just one green beer ;)) I woke up this morning with a new attitude!

celebrating with danny’s fam

It’s all about remembering WHY I run in the first place. I run to be healthy, and to stay strong. I run because I enjoy setting goals and I feel accomplished when I follow through with them. I run to feel alive, and to be outdoors. I run because it’s “my thing” that I do solely for myself, and not for anyone else.

NONE of the above reasons make it illegal for me to race slowly tomorrow. I can run/walk/jog and still feel strong, alive, and accomplished. Maybe it’s a little nuts that I need to think so deeply into this, but I really AM tough on myself and need to lay out a plan to see both sides and allow myself to RELAX. So relax I will do, and I WILL rock this race tomorrow! Slow, or fast!

8 Responses to “to run, or not to run..that is the question”

  1. Alyssa March 18, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    yeeeah! and I’ll be there to watch Rob and Seth run… so look for me!

  2. (what runs) Lori March 18, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    You’ll do AMAZING in the race. And who cares if you walk, run, jump, or fly… you’re out there and you’ll be giving it your all, right? πŸ™‚

    Anything green is wonderful- beer or smoothie or juice. And when I’m feeling sick I definitely grab a green juice- I swear they help. πŸ˜‰

  3. Jenny March 18, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Doesn’t matter if you run or go at your own pace as long as you enjoy yourself. You’ll do great girl! πŸ˜€

  4. This Italian Family March 18, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    You are so right! You will definitely rock this race. πŸ™‚

  5. movesnmunchies March 18, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    YOU SAID IT GIRL! LOVE YOUR ATTITUDE- rock it !!!!

  6. yourdailygrace March 18, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    I’m glad my advice actually helped you! To be honest it may be the first time that has ever happened..lol. Sorry for the glaring spelling errors and grammer mistakes in my comments=) Can’t wait to hear about how you rock it tomorrow morning, I’ll be sending you positive vibes=)

  7. mealsformiles March 19, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I totally understand what you mean – we runners are hard on ourselves. Taking a step back to think about why we run always helps me! Good luck! I’m sure you will rock the race and have tons of fun – and that’s what matters πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. sham’rocked it! « cupcakedynamite - March 21, 2011

    […] just a bit of debating.. okay, a TON of back and forth and the wild psycho-ness of being way too hard on myself over a […]

Leave a comment